Posted in Revelation, Study of the Word

the FIRE of GOD

“Set a fire down in my soul that I can’t contain, that I can’t control. I WANT MORE OF YOU GOD” (taken from the song “Set a Fire”)

FIRE

Isaiah 43:2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you, when you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flames scorch you.

Yesterday (on our Night of Worship, a night set for praising and worshiping God through our singing) while we were singing our last worship song Set a Fire, I said to myself “I haven’t studied about the fire of God”. It was like when the false apostles tried to cast out demons in Jesus name, “I know Jesus and I know Paul but I do not know you” (Acts 19:15). In my case I would have said, “I have started to know God’s water (through the help of Ps. Randall’s book The River Rising and Ezekiel 41-43), I am learning to know God’s anointing, presence and glory (through the help of Evangelist Michael Livengood’s book The Glory Factor), but I do not know you, fire of God YET”. So I set my mind to study and learn more about the fire of God.

THEN with God’s timing, the preaching after the worship was about the FIRE of GOD. Wow! That is real proof that all things work together for good. (Romans 8:28)

Malachi 3: 2-3

2“But who can endure the day of His coming? And who can stand when He appears? For He is like a refiner’s fire and like launderers’ soap. 3He will sit as a refiner’s fire and a purifier of silver; He will purify the sons of Levi, and purge them as gold and silver, that they may offer to the Lord an offering of righteousness.

The fire of God is a refiner’s fire and a purifier of silver.

As the people called by God we are called to mature and edify ourselves for the work of the ministry. We are called to study and gain the knowledge, wisdom and understanding of God through studying of His Scriptures, through Prayer and Supplication, and through our daily experiences that becomes our testimonies. And testimonies come from TESTS. We cannot be called OVERCOMERS without first overcoming something, and we cannot be called SURVIVORS without surviving something. My point is we all have to go through something to gain something, we all have to go through the fire to become PURE.

Before can see the real beauty of any gold or silver, it has to be first refined and purified. And the only way it can be refined and purified is through FIRE. The FIRE will REMOVE all excess baggage to the gold and silver after its been mined and found. The fire will filter everything that does not really belong to the gold and silver. The fire will make the gold and silver REFINED and PURIFIED.

That is also true with us, we as represented by the gold and the silver need to go through the fire, through trial, testing, obstacles and challenges in life so that after going through it in a little while we will become REFINED and PURIFIED. Then we can be called to have a TESTIMONY, called to be OVERCOMERS and SURVIVORS.

Luke 4:29 [Jesus said,] “I came to send fire on the earth, and how I wish it were already kindled!”

And who sent the fire? The fire is sent by God through Jesus. It is by the permission of God that we go through these tests as He did with Job. God had faith in Job so He allowed the enemy to come and tempt him to sin (Job 1:6-12; 2:1-7). And as Job’s reply to his wife our response should be the same “… Shall we indeed accept good from God, and shall we not accept adversity?” (Job 2: 10)

I believe that God gave the enemy permission to tempt Job because He knew Job is able to overcome it. For God never gives us anything that He knows we will not be able to overcome. (1 Corinthians 10:13) God gave us trials knowing that these testing of our faith produces patience. God gave us trials knowing that these trials are His way of making us perfect and complete, lacking nothing. (James 1:2-3)

Author:

... a growing Christian seeking to increase in the knowledge and understanding of the Lord's will upon my life

Leave a Reply

