Posted in Experience, Illustration, Revelation

COVER UP?

COVER UP?

[The Story: July 18, 2016]

[Revelation added: July 20 & 22, 2016]

O God, You know my folly; the wrongs I have done are not hidden from You” Psalm 69: 5 ESV

Today at work, I was trying to fix the cover of a table since I tore the previous cover because it was already ruined. Although underneath that outer layer there was second layer that I just left there so that the students can still use it during the semester. I was just able to face fixing/ replacing that table cover since it was the semester break and I was not that busy and there were no students to disturb me nor use the table.

So here it goes.

The STORY

fabric-1237805_960_720.jpg

At first I tried to cover up the table with its old cover still in it. But as I was looking at the cover I used to cover the old layer. IT DID NOT LOOK GOOD. I could still see the old cover at the sides of the table and it was making the table look OLD even with its new cover.

The REVELATION

I had realized this as I was putting on the new layer but I ignored it because I thought it would be just fine.

That’s where I was wrong. There is nothing hidden in the side of the Lord. No matter how hard we try to cover it up. He knows it all. No matter how we try to cover it up with “good things”, if its foundation is wrong then it’s wrong. Or when the foundation is not stable, then nothing will work out. If it’s sin then it’s sin. There are no white lies, whatever lies are lies. No small, no big, no white, no black lies. ALL no matter how grave/severe they are all EQUALLY LIES.

So I decided to take off the new cover as well as the old cover. So I discovered that the table needed dusting because the old cover was already damaged on the inside.

After dusting, I layered it with new covers and topped it with Christian quotations and Bible verses I saw at the stock room.

To preserve the cover and the table I covered the table with plastic cover.

After all the hard work, I looked at my work and saw that it was good.

Nor do they put new wine into old wineskin, or else the wineskins break, the wine is spilled, and the wineskins are ruined. But they put new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.” Matthew 9: 17 NKJV

The REVELATION

Like the table, no matter how many layers of cover I place in it if I had not removed and cleaned the innermost layer, the outer beautiful layers are useless. The outer layers will only be destroyed faster than it should last. The table is not preserved because it was not thoroughly cleaned from the very base.

Hello_Sin_IS_RECT.jpg

Sin. Hidden sin is still lurking around finding a way to make it even bigger than it should be spilling the beautiful wine and wasting it.

Old wineskin cannot carry new wine. Because when we become careless and lazy and just do this and that without thinking over it, or without laying first firm foundation on it. That wineskin will surely crumble. The new things we try to instill to others will not remain but will break because, we did not first lay the foundation. It will break because we did not yet replace the wineskin with a new one.

So be mindful. Correct first the wrong mindset with the right foundations so as to set the new wineskin. So when you input and help build up others, the wine you pour out will not be wasted.

Pour new wine in new wineskin. Start your building with good foundation.

24Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine (Jesus), and does them, I (Jesus) will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock: 25 “and the rain descended, the flood came; and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it did not fall, for it was founded on the rock” Matthew 7:24-25 NKJV

 

 

See also my other post on Foundation.

Author:

... a growing Christian seeking to increase in the knowledge and understanding of the Lord's will upon my life

Leave a Reply

