Posted in Direction, Experience, Illustration, Revelation, Testimony

STAY FOCUSED

Purpose and Destiny:

STAY FOCUSED

Colossians 3:1 ISV

Therefore, if you have been raised with the Messiah, keep focusing on the things that are above, where the Messiah is seated at the right hand of God.

 

We must not let anything else distract us for if we do we fall and fail. So stay focused and take courage from the Word of God. Arnette, who summited Everest on his fourth attempt in 2011 said this: Climbing a mountain “…brings into focus what’s important to you,” … “There are a thousand reasons to turn around and only one to keep going. You really have to focus on the one reason that’s most important and unique to you.

“It forces you to look deep inside yourself and figure out if you really have the … toughness to push when you want to stop,” he added. “When you come home, you realize you are able to face a wall and overcome that wall.”

There will be many as there are already many things that want to steal our focus in life. But as Paul’s letter to the Colossians says, if we have already claimed to have been redeemed and saved by the blood, we must know where to put our focus. We must know what our priority should be. We must focus on God.

Yes, there will be many walls, there will be many attacks and there will be many hurts but one thing we are assured of that greater is the suffering, the greater the reward and blessing from God. And as was testified even mountain climbers acknowledge this in their endeavor, they recognize that facing a wall and being able to overcome it is a great gain. All the pain and suffering you had to go through just to be able to overcome has been paid off when you reach your destination.

1 Corinthians 10:13 (New American Standard Bible)says that “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.”

And God never wastes these experience, this temptation that we have overtaken. For in the test comes the testimony, in the mess comes the message. Out of this pain will come deliverance. Joseph himself said, “you meant evil against me but God meant it for good…” It may have happened for a wrong or bad purpose but God will turn that wrong beginning into a message and into a testimony that will glorify His name.

As part of my testimony, I believe this will speak out to those who had started wrong and thought it was enough. So before really having a deep relationship with God my motivation for living and fighting depression was because, as I said in my journal, “I do not want to be like her. I do not want to end up like her who let depression take over her life which made her kill herself and her unborn child” (dated April 18, 2016).

I have greatly grieved the death of this distant cousin but her life became my motivation. So whenever I felt depressed and unwanted and unloved, I remember her. I remembered how her life was wasted because of that thought of people despising her because of what she was going through. I thought of how selfish her decision was of taking her own life. And it made me rethink of the bad things I wanted to do myself.

But that was then.

My focus was on the wrong reasons. Now I know Jesus and what sacrifice He truly did for me on the cross and it became my motivation. And His Word assures me that I have a purpose, my life is here for a purpose and I have something to fulfill that no one else can fill the gap. I am unique and loved and is continually loved by God. So, I no longer have the right to take my life away nor waste it for it is no longer mine but His to use for His glory.

Author:

... a growing Christian seeking to increase in the knowledge and understanding of the Lord's will upon my life

Leave a Reply

